Marines

ikubak

Recycles dryer sheets
So my 17 year old son wants to enlist out of high school. He graduates in December. He knows that we have saved enough $ for his college. He has looked at ROTC and other military branches. He has a 3.1 gpa and good college entry exam scores and military aptitude scores. He has lots of options, but he wants to enlist, go through boot camp at Parris Island, and get deployed. His main reasons are he wants the challenge (mental and physical, and he is very physically fit) he doesn't want to sit in classrooms, and he wants to see the world. So Marines out there, does enlisting sound like the right thing for him?

If it were me, I would advise him to join a different branch. No offense to the Mairnes, but I would want him to learn a job skill while in the military that transfers to the civilian world. I was in the Army, so I'm not an expert on the Marines, but from what I know about the Marines, it would'nt be a good choice if that was part of what he is looking for.

As a US Army combat vet from the Viet Nam era, the last thing I would want is a son, daughter or grandchild enlisting and being deployed overseas in a combat zone.
Go rent "Born on the 4th of July" and watch it with your son for some real perspective of the possibilities of what can happen.

If he is hell bent on joining up, encourage the Air Force or Navy.