Need a netbook/tablet pc and wifi access....help!

thefed

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
i am new to the whole ipad/tablet pc/netbook scene.

i am looking for a standalone product (not a smartphone) that i can get online with anywhere to check the status of our orders. no heavy computing...just web surfing

So first i thought 'netbook' and I've seen some as low as 180 bucks on clearance. then I read/heard about tablet pcs...but im not sure what they do

I think Verzion has wireless broadband for about $40/month for 250mb which should be fine for simply checking our orders and email while on the road

can someone give me some guidance?!?!?!

I'd vote for the netbook. I'm a very satisfied owner. It is extremely powerful for small biz tasks like you are talking about - internet, email, typing up even lengthy letters/documents, spreadsheets, etc. You can stick it in your glove box when not in use (for security). Pop it out and use it for a minute when you have some downtime during the day, at lunch, between jobs, etc.

It has an integrated physical keyboard you won't get with an ipad or other similar touchscreen device (if typing is important to you).

$40/mo for broadband internet sounds fair. I think we have something locally called "Clear" that might be a little less, but don't know much more about it or whether it is available in your area. Clear is billed as mobile broadband.

Netbook. $250 a year or 2 ago. Asus Eeee. I use mine alot. Great for internet, spreadsheets, music/video watching, backing up camera.

I decided against an aircard, as free WiFi is so easy to find nowadays (Starbucks, McDonalds, libraries, etc) if you just need occasional access.

Second the netbook. You can get online at a lot of places these days (McDonalds, Starbucks, etc.) so you might not even need a separate plan.

I have a netbook for a couple years and I like it. I use it a lot less now that I have an ipod touch, very portable but requires wifi.