Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Outdoor Cooking Appliance Question
Old 12-13-2018, 05:02 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Okay, just posted on a rather depressing thread about the state of health care in America. Done with that.

Baring my soul here, so asking for compassion instead of criticism.

I have been using a cheap ass Char Griiler hybrid for a few years. Its and all in one (gas, charcoal, offset smoker, side burner). Gets everything done, but is a PITA for smoking. Struggles to get to 225-240 unless it is warm (60+) outside. I drug it out of a local Walmart when they put all grills 50% off in the fall. Very happy with that price point.

So, fellow friends of the fire, here is my dilemma... I live in NC where **BBQ (smoked critters - - - - - -and some veggies) is the second religion.

What next? Dedicated smoker and grill? Pellet cooker? Big Green Egg (or cousin)? UDS (Ugly Drum Smoker)? Other? Brand is secondary to method.

To the multimillionaires here, my budget (if I want harmony with DW) is $500 to under $1K. I'll pass on the Viking (et al) $53K backyard ensemble.

**Delicious, tender, smokey eats. Not an appliance, nor a gathering. That's okay where you live, but not here. Never.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!