Password Managers

B-Guy

Recycles dryer sheets
I know this has been discussed, but doesn't look like it has been for a while and technology changes quickly..

What Password Managers are you currently using and how do you like them. Good and bad.

I have a friend that is looking for something for her phone and computer. It would preferably sync between her phone and desktop. Any suggestion would be appreciated.

I have been using DataVault and have been for many years. It is a bit difficult to get started with, but it uses Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) which is extremally secure. I like the ability to sync between iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android, Mac, Windows and BlackBerry. Just wanted to get opinions from you all before making a recommendation to my friend.

I have 1Password which will do what she wants. I had LastPass before but I much prefer 1Password.

I use LastPass. I have not tried any others. LastPass does what you say your friend needs. It has its flaws and annoyances but I'm happy enough not to shop around just to find the flaws and annoyances of the alternatives. Obviously that's not a glowing recommendation, just my honest opinion as a user for about 2 years.

1Password.

Lastpass has been hacked way too many times and the last time it was poorly communicated to their users. Plus they monetize their paying customers using trackers.

1Password.

I wasn't thrilled when v8 required using their online syncing service. I played around with a few KeePass compatible programs but couldn't find anything that worked nearly as well, so I eventually caved in & went back to 1Password. So far it's been fine, hopefully they don't start having the same issues that LastPass has been having.

Last edited: