Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today
View Poll Results: Do you have one or more paid news subsciptions?
I have a paid subscription to a local newspaper/website. 45 24.59%
I have a paid subscription to a statewide news source. 6 3.28%
I have a paid subscription to a national news source. 59 32.24%
I do not pay for any news subscriptions. 73 39.89%
Voters: 183. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11-27-2020, 03:58 PM   #121
Recycles dryer sheets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr._Graybeard View Post
The thread about crap writing got me wondering how many forum members pay to support a news source. I spent over 30 years working in daily newspaper journalism, and I see the industry as on the verge of death. COVID-19 probably knocked 25% out of an already shrinking revenue stream. A small-city daily paper in my area recently laid off its managing editor; she had worked there for 41 years.

DW and I have paid subscriptions to two local newspapers, a regional (statewide) paper and a national news source. I consider it money well spent. How about you?
I pay for NYT and Washington Post.
jayanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!