They Had to Invite Me

redduck

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Next month I’m going to do something that I’ve never done before: I’ll be attending my 50th high school reunion. For those of you folks who may be a bit too literal, this is not the 50th time I’ll be attending a high school reunion. This more has to do with graduating from high school in 1962.

Anyhow, it seems about a third of the class will be showing up, which I guess is pretty good. I’m actually more curious about the ones not showing up. (I am so glad I'll be showing up).

From what I gather, most of the attendees are retired or sort of retired. I, on the other hand, am not—but, this is mainly out of spite. I remembered when I graduated (bottom 5% of the class—keep in mind the competition was tough) everybody said, “Hey, Duck, nobody’s going to give you a job.” Well, I showed them. Just who’s not working NOW?

The other weird thing (actually, it’s all weird) is that after we email one another about high school memories/teachers/classes, we go onto to more recent events: travel/children/grandchildren (all basically pretty boring stuff) and then back to relationships/missed opportunities/hate/lust/love/insecurities/goofy times—none of which is boring. Remember, this is a group of 68 year olds that have known each other for 50 years (or more). (To be continued. Please see below).

Ah, here we are: welcome back…

We are also having elementary school reunions the night before the high school reunion. So, many of us have known one another for a mere, let’s say, 58 years or so.

Every ten years I win the vote: "Mostly likely not to change, but should." I’m pretty sure I’m the favorite to win it once again.

"Mostly likely not to change, but should."