Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Tracfone Newbie Needs Your Help
Old 08-05-2015, 01:23 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Tracfone Newbie Needs Your Help

Thanks for taking the time

About me:
I'm a very light phone user. My sprint plan that expires @ midnight (june 6th) gave me 400 minutes monthly & most months I had around 200 minutes left.
*However, my minute usage will definitely go up when I drop my landline*
(I used the landline for all business calls)

Internet was unlimited, but I still didn't use it that much.
*I may use the net more with this plan because the phone itself will be a huge upgrade over my trusty, but totally antiquated Palm Treo 755p*

I'm looking at this tracfone & plan:
LG Ultimate 2 Android Smartphone with Car Charger, Case, 1200 Minutes and Triple Minutes for Life | HSN

Since I'm a complete newbie when it comes to tracfones, I have several questions:

#1: Phone comes bundled with the following: 1200 minutes, 1200 texts and 1200MB of data + 365 days of service (400 minutes, texts and data tripled)
Question: If I'm on the phone posting here at the forum, I would only be using the 'data' part of the plan & not using any of the 1200 minutes or texts. True or False

#2: Hypothetical Question: I purchase the phone & activate it on August 15th 2015.
Exactly one year later, miraculously, I've used exactly 1200 minutes, sent 1200 texts & used 1200MB of data.
In this scenario, would my total cost for the year have been the $119.95 purchase price plus sales tax ?

#2b: If the above answer is yes, would my only expense going forward be adding minutes texts & data ?
If so, how much does it cost ? I've done a little research here & understand it costs around .10 cents per minute ?

#3: I mentioned sales tax on the original purchase, but what about other taxes that are added to all phone plans ?
I know taxes on my landline & my sprint bill are substantial. Are they built in ?