When I was a kid, I........

Climbed a tree about 40 ft off the ground. Rode my bike down a big hill at 50 mph.

Always outside; playing ball, building forts, riding bikes, hunting and fishing. Hated to be inside. We settled our issues by fighting and the coaches at school would put boxing gloves on you and make you fight it out if caught fighting at school. I had my fist gun at 12 and first dirt bike at 14. I always had a little money in my pocket from odd jobs. Kids are being raised to be too soft (physically and emotionally) these days. As a highschool football coach, I see it all the time.

I was the oldest of seven kids, so I grew up helping with everything. We had to be home at 5 for dinner and then again before dark. We just ran all over the neighborhood, our parents did not know where we were, but it worked. I got my first outside babysitting job when I was 11, I think I got 35 cents an hour. I always had some kind of job after that, Mom and Dad did not have spare cash for our spending money, but we had everything we needed. I walked and rode my bike wherever I needed to go. I never did have a car to drive, until I lived on my own.

My Mom's sister lived on a farm and we visited often. There were a lot of kids on the farm too. We really ran wild, nobody worried what we were doing, and we came back to the house at meal time. Great times, some of my best memories.

When I was a kid, would stay out of house for many hours, walking to distant shopping malls, or building forts in the woods. We found a flare by the railroad tracks, and foolishly lit it. Dripped some on my foot and got a pretty bad wound as it burned through my sneaks. Mom never found out, but will kick my arse if I get to heaven, I'm sure