Join Early Retirement Today

Which telephoto lens to buy?
Old 09-08-2018, 06:57 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Tour company advised bringing at least a 300mm telephoto lens for SLR cameras. I have no experience with TP lenses.

We have a Canon Rebel T5i SLR camera. The Canon 300mm TP lens runs anywhere from $85 to $250 on various sites. Space, not price is the issue. The 300MM will fit in the gadget bag along with the camera.

I also see ads for a 500-1,000mm lens, for not much more money, but the durn thing must be a foot long. Would require its own bag, more to hang around one's neck, safeguard from accidents, etc. We need to travel light.

Would the big lens be that much better for getting long shots of wildlife and so on?

Thanks

Amethyst
Amethyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-08-2018, 07:34 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

The big lens would be better if the wildlife is far away. I have a 70-300 and a 150-600. I very seldom use the 150-600.