Absolute Return Solutions.....?

damonhowatt

Dryer sheet wannabe
Good morning. I went to a one hour meeting last week with an advisor from Absolute Returns Solutions. No steak dinner or anything, just a quick hour long sit down. This was referred from a friend who is quite wealthy and who seems fairly astute concerning money/investing.

There was very little, if any, actual substance concerning what they invested your funds in. The advisor kept saying 'quality corporate bonds, etcetera' would be laddered into 5 year segments.

The cost would be $1000 - 4000 for the initial plan setup and then ~ 1.05% on an annual basis on funds that are not in any corporate bonds.

My question is: does anyone have any experience with this firm? They have offices in Seattle (my location), Redmond, and Denver. The advisor is pressing for a second meeting......:nonono:

Thank you,
Steve

Sounds to me like you should absolutely not return.

I have no experience with that firm. I do have experience with people trying to take a significant percentage of my hard earned money, and my answer to that is pretty well always a resounding "no thanks". IMO, anyone intelligent enough to be responsible with their finances is probably intelligent enough to learn enough about investing so that they wouldn't need to fork over their money to someone else.

No experience with this because I would never even consider it. My $ is for my benefit, not some FA.

Fidelity will design a bond ladder for you for free. The bonds will cost you a $1 each in commission.

I hear advertisements for them on the radio all the time. Never any details of what they are providing. I always assumed it was some kind of invest in life insurance thing.

OMG !!!! RUN