Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
ACA and capital gains?
Old 03-03-2021, 07:26 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 206
ACA and capital gains?

Hello all, I have a few questions about the subject.
This is the first year Iím going to need to withdraw from my brokerage account. The account is setup with ďaverageĒ cost basis. This account is at Vanguard, if that matters.

1. Are the capital gains on the money I withdraw the only part that counts as income for ACA?

2. With this account using average cost basis, If I withdraw 1/2 of the account total would 1/2 of the capital gains be my income?

3. Are the capital gains numbers shown on the Vanguard app accurate enough to use for this sort of income planning?

Thanks in advance!
Murf
Murf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-03-2021, 07:34 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RunningBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf2 View Post
Hello all, I have a few questions about the subject.
This is the first year Iím going to need to withdraw from my brokerage account. The account is setup with ďaverageĒ cost basis. This account is at Vanguard, if that matters.

1. Are the capital gains on the money I withdraw the only part that counts as income for ACA?

2. With this account using average cost basis, If I withdraw 1/2 of the account total would 1/2 of the capital gains be my income?

3. Are the capital gains numbers shown on the Vanguard app accurate enough to use for this sort of income planning?

Thanks in advance!
Murf
Yes to all 3, and #3 is "very accurate". If you haven't withdrawn at all, I'd recommend switching to "Specific ID" so that you can choose which shares to sell. Usually you'd like to sell those with a higher basis, and less capital gains. But if you've already withdrawn any at average cost you have to stick with that.
RunningBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 08:29 AM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 206
Thanks RB, I thought I had it right. I just didnít want to screw it up.

If I want to change to Specific ID, do I need to have some records in my possession or is that all available online?

Iím afraid Iíve been sloppy in my record keeping.

Thanks again!
Murf
Murf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 09:22 AM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
walkinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,203
Regarding #3,
https://investor.vanguard.com/taxes/...red-noncovered
Vanguard's data is only accurate for mutual fund if you use the average method. It may be your only option if you don't have all your records.


If you have sold any shares of a mutual fund using one of the cost basis methods (say average cost), then you must continue to use that method for that fund. If you've never sold a share then you have the flexibility to change the method.
walkinwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 10:57 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RunningBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10,778
There are covered and non-covered shares, representing when fund companies had to track your basis or not. I think the split was around 2011, and VG splits your holdings out when you look at cost basis for a holding you own. I don't have all the records for non-covered (old) shares, so I use average cost for those. To use another method I'd have to have my purchase records. Any covered shares you can just change it online, under account maintenance I think, and VG has all of the necessary records.
RunningBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 12:18 PM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 206
Thanks again guys!

Murf
Murf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If in 15% tax bracket, do capital gains count for ACA MAGI? ctmm Health and Early Retirement 3 06-01-2014 04:11 PM
Long term capital gains and qualified dividends and 0% taxation haha FIRE and Money 18 01-13-2013 05:45 PM
AMT and the Zero Capital Gains Tax in 2008? moperry Hi, I am... 10 03-06-2009 10:09 PM
Capital Gains and AMT Lagniappe FIRE and Money 22 12-12-2006 09:48 AM
Capital Gains and Losses - Line 18 FirstYearWithALoss FIRE and Money 4 03-18-2004 07:37 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.