Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

ACA tax credit -negative tax liability in 2014 question
Old 12-14-2013, 06:39 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

ACA tax credit -negative tax liability in 2014 question

I have been working to estimate my tax liability for 2014 so I can adjust my withholding from P/T work. With my HSA deduction, estimated ACA Tax Credit on my MAGI, personal deduction and standard deduction it would appear my tax liability would be about a negative $296.

If one's tax liability goes below zero with the ACA tax credit does one get a refund for the amount below 0?

I ask because if this is the case and I am still earning income from employment I could make a contribution to my IRA, $6500, which would increase my negative tax liability by more than $1000 as it increased the ACA tax credit amount. Then I could pull that money out of the IRA between 59 1/2 and 64 to get my income into the subsidy range more easily without P/T work.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!