All my eggs in one basket (brokerage)?

Always thought it was important to have assets diversified across multiple brokerages: currently Fido, Schwab, TD Ameritrade (oops...Schwab), Vanguard. Occasionally can play one against the other and provides some comfort in case one brokerage has a big problem.

We have one major company. And just two banks. One on line and one physical.

I’m into simplicity.

Thanks to all for your replies so far. Here's a question. Is it easier to do Roth conversions from a tIRA at the same brokerage (in my case Schwab)? Or could I establish the new Roth accounts at a different brokerage from Schwab? I'm a newbie, only starting to learn about Roth conversions.

Thanks to all for your replies so far. Here's a question. Is it easier to do Roth conversions from a tIRA at the same brokerage (in my case Schwab)? Or could I establish the new Roth accounts at a different brokerage from Schwab? I'm a newbie, only starting to learn about Roth conversions.

It's easier at the same company because essentially they just convert what you already have in your investments in the Traditional IRA into the same investments in a Roth unless you state otherwise.

I'm tired of having our investment funds spread all over the place, crave simplicity, and am in the process of consolidating everything into one of the majors, except for cash bank accounts where we keep 2 years expenses. So, if for some crazy reason could not access investment funds, would not be SOL. Discussed the cyber-risk with new [no-fee] advisor - opinion was that good old fashioned outside fraud/scam was a much greater risk - of course they pay him to say that buy I tend to agree. As we age, I think simplicity will be more of a benefit than a curse - easier to keep track of, quicker to notice something wrong, single point of contact/escalation, less confusing, both DW and I have access to same info.

Last edited: