Join Early Retirement Today

anonymous gifting
Old 08-29-2016, 01:27 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

anonymous gifting

Looking over my spending pace so far in 2016, it appears that come year end my budget may have some extra funds. I'm considering gifting anonymously at the holidays to help a deserving family, such as by paying their child's outstanding medical bill. I've never done this before so am unsure how to make it happen.

It seems it should be as simple as visiting a local hospital and telling them what I have in mind. They likely know a deserving family. Then to keep it anonymous gifting either cash or money order. I worry that the funds could too easily disappear and not go to paying the bill. Maybe a venue other than a hospital would be better? Anyone have advice?
GrayHare is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-29-2016, 01:46 PM   #2

I've seen several articles about people going to Walmart and anonymously paying off someone's item on layaway purchase plans. Would that work for you?