Balancing/ Allocation Advice

aaronc879

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I'm 26 years old and even though i've been investing and learning about investing for several years, today was the first time i've broke down my investments into categories. I've only been looking at the overall total, which is just below $60,000 :-\ I saw something that surprised me and would like some advice. Here's the break down:

Large Cap 65% :eek:
Small Cap 14% :(
International 3% ::)
Co. Stock 11%
Cash 7% :(

By far the best investment choice in my 401k is a certain Large cap mutual fund. That's why that % is currently so high.

My projected future contributions as of now would be:

Large 28%
Small 29%
International 14%
Co. Stock 9%
Cash 20% at least until I reach 10% overall

I know this portfolio doesn't reflect it but I do have a reasonably high risk tolerance. Does this look ok? Any suggestions? I don't like bonds. I'll just increase my MM and CD's as I get older. I'm currently maxing out my 401k($15,000/yr) and Roth IRA($4000/yr) but have nothing left of my 43K/yr income to contribute to taxable accounts. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

looks ok except the company stock. Why so much company stock? Concentrated holdings in a single stock can increase portfolio volatility without increased expected return. Do you get a discount on co stock purchases? Or is your company match in co stock?

My company match IS in company stock. That's the only option. The first couple years I was only contributing 8% ( enough for the full 2.5% match) to my 401K so the % was higher and is now going down now that i'm contributing over 30%.

Company stock also includes the new profit sharing of 2-5% per year as a replacement of the traditional pension. But that can be transfered out of company stock later if I want whereas the company match cannot.

I'm a big believer in diversifying outside the US, so we have about 25% devoted to international in contrast to your 3%.