Basic Retirement Question

Stormgod

Confused about dryer sheets
I am new at this and just making sure I understand this correctly as I am starting to think about retirement.

• I would like to retire at age 60 (I am 54 now)
• I will be living off of $70K per year once I retire
• My social security benefits will be at age 65 (when I plan on starting to take out) $2,676 per month
• My wife has never worked (homemaker). She gets half that amount I have read (I hope that is right), and is the same age as me $1,335)
• That means combined our social security comes to $48,132 per year.
• So in short I need enough cash on hand to carry me from 60 to 65 (350K) and then an additional $21K per year to bridge the gap between social security and that 70K target.

Do I have this right?

Something like that - the devil is in the details. Things like inflation, health care costs, unexpected expenses. It probably makes sense to have some cushion in the $70k number. Also, your FRA social security benefit is at age 67 not age 65 (just making sure that $2,676 is the right number). One final thing - you can't count on staying employed at the same salary for the next 6 years. I made all sorts of plans and my company went bankrupt in my late 40's and I lost my high paying job.

I am new at this and just making sure I understand this correctly as I am starting to think about retirement.

•I would like to retire at age 60 (I am 54 now)

•I will be living off of $70K per year once I retire

•My social security benefits will be at age 65 (when I plan on starting to take out) $2,676 per month

•My wife has never worked (homemaker). She gets half that amount I have read (I hope that is right), and is the same age as me $1,335)

•That means combined our social security comes to $48,132 per year.

•So in short I need enough cash on hand to carry me from 60 to 65 (350K) and then an additional $21K per year to bridge the gap between social security and that 70K target.

Do I have this right?