Join Early Retirement Today

Best use of Roth
Old 06-07-2020, 05:00 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Best use of Roth

Hello, I’m just beginning to be intentional about investing for ER. My wife and I currently have close to 60k in retirement assets. She is currently out of work to care for new baby. We’re currently saving close to 20% on a single income.

I feel, however, as if I’m in the cusp of not having enough in my emergency fund and my income would be a stretch to max out a Roth for the year.

I’ve currently filled out 2019 contributions with a portion of our emergency fund in a money market account. Would it be a terrible idea to move another 6k of emergency fund to 2020 Roth while we build up enough cash reserves (1yr worth)?

Afterwards, convert one or both money market funds into our preferred stock mutual fund. Once we have enough on hand cash.

I just want to make sure I’m using all the space given to me.

Thanks
Jammertime is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-07-2020, 05:06 PM   #2
Confused about dryer sheets