Bond fund questions

timwalsh300

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm new to investing in bond funds. Tell me if I'm missing something here...

It is my understanding that a bond fund's NAV falls by 1% for every year of the fund's duration when interest rates rise by 1%.

For example, the yield on VFITX (intermediate-term Treasuries) is 2.2% and the duration is 5.1 years. So if rates go up by 1% it will take ~28 months to get back to even in that fund. Similarly VFISX (short-term Treasuries) has a yield of 0.74% and a duration of 2.1 years, so it would ~34 months to get back to even. VUSTX is even worse, requiring ~37 months.

But then there is VFIIX. The yield is 3% and the duration is 2 years. So even if the Fed raises rates by 1% over the next 12 months, VFIIX still returns 1%?

So is VFIIX a free lunch? Or is this just indicative of US Treasuries being tremendously overbought relative to everything else right now? Why? Aren't GNMA's just as safe?

Tim

GNMAs are a special kind of bonds because they exhibit what's called "negative convexity" (see here: Bonds: Advanced Topics - Bogleheads). GNMA's prepayment risk means that they tend to have low durations when interest rates are low but that duration could rise when interest rates start going up.

I see. I was missing the part about negative convexity, and forgetting that after a rate increase a fund can buy new bonds at higher yields.

So my assumption was correct - that VFIIX should still produce a positive return even if the Fed raised rates by 1% - but afterwards the yield on VFIIX would increase more slowly than the non-MBS funds?

And would I be correct in assuming that Treasury funds are subject to less call-risk (thus have higher convexity) than MBS or corporate bond funds?

Anyway, it sounds like my best option is just buying VBMFX (total bond market) and forgetting about it. All I'm trying to do is decide where to invest the portion of my portfolio, given my target asset allocation, that won't be in equities.

Tim