Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Book Recommendation: The Investor's Manifesto
Old 11-01-2009, 06:47 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Book Recommendation: The Investor's Manifesto

I am essentially a Boglehead, and the guidance of Dr William Bernstein has been the most useful I have found. My portfolio has long been designed based on his The Four Pillars of Investing, the best single investment book ever written IMO.

His first investing book, The Intelligent Asset Allocator, received critical acclaim by academics and professionals but was considered much too technical by most. I am an Engineer who enjoys investing, and frankly I found it too difficult.

His second investing book, The Four Pillars is much more user friendly and convincing, and it's my bible, but still considered too difficult by many.

His third investing book, The Investor's Manifesto is, by the authors own admission, a condensed, simplified version of Four Pillars but the essence is all still there. He also talks about the 2008 meltdown as it relates to his investing philosophy. I would highly recommend the new book if you haven't read the first two. FWIW...

I also picked up The New Coffeehouse Investor by Bill Shultheis. I recommend the original and second editions highly, the new version is longer, more confusing and esoteric to my surprise. YMMV

Target AA: 50% equity funds / 45% bonds / 5% cash
Target WR: Approx 1.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!