Budget Review Frequency

Jerry1

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Site Team
How often do you review your budget? I just retired and I feel the need to review my budget. This is frankly, something I've never done before. I would make money, save money, and at year end, I'd review my change in net worth.

Now that I'm retired, I feel the need to review monthly. I suspect that this will turn into quarterly and then annually as time goes on. Looking for some input from the group on how often you review your budget to actual and does it indeed lessen over time?

I retired nearly 3 years ago. I review my expenses quarterly and log them in a spreadsheet. I look to see where I am either under / over and try to understand the driver of the variance. During 4Q I look to take advantage of large underbudget variances by making "out of budget" purchases. 1st year it was a hot-tub. 2nd year it was a small boat. Review your budget as often as you feel comfortable. You'll find your own sweet spot.

I don't budget.

I do track all spending. I also make sure I'm under a 4% withdrawal rate very (too) frequently. Lately that's been about once or twice a week. At the same time I verify that I'm meeting all of my other financial goals (do I have enough cash on hand, do my kids' college funds have enough in them, is my asset allocation where I want, etc.)

I do think your thesis about checking less as time goes on is true for most and will be true for me also.

How often do you review your budget? I just retired and I feel the need to review my budget. This is frankly, something I've never done before. I would make money, save money, and at year end, I'd review my change in net worth.

Now that I'm retired, I feel the need to review monthly. I suspect that this will turn into quarterly and then annually as time goes on. Looking for some input from the group on how often you review your budget to actual and does it indeed lessen over time?