buying a townhouse for purposes of renting

JohnDoe

Recycles dryer sheets
On a scale of 0 to 100 I am at about 5% of buying a 2nd house and I have some questions.

Are mortgage rates typically higher for investment properties?

Is there a down payment percentage that is required?

Thanks.
JD

Yes at least 1% higher. Generally banks want 30% down for rentals, but I know they will do business at 20-25%.

I am seeing .25% higher for investment property with 30% down.

JDARNELL

You could always move into the new house and rent out the old one, get an FHA loan requiring 5 percent or less down and get owner occupied rates.

I own a few rental properties. So far very successfully. Although I studied the options and took a unique approach it has really worked well. I found that banks wanted .5% more and 25% down vs 20%. Might just be the bank I was dealing with, but they were the easiest to work with at the time. I have used the rentals for a couple different options. While I am working they provide some level of tax shelter although most paper losses are deferred as current income does not allow them. But that's OK as retirement income will and they will benefit me then. It provides two retirement options that I am still deciding which way to go. I can continue as now and just break even, get the tax advantages, and build the equity and at some point in the future sell them for the equity. Or I can accelerate the mortgage payoff and use the rental money as extra income.

I retire in 160 days or less (still working the final date) so I will decide which option when I see the retirement cash flow actually in place vs in a plan. Right now I believe I can live as planned and pay down those mortgages fairly fast, but need to get there to make sure it will work. If it does then I have both options in place. Monthly income and the ability to take a lump sum cash if needed.

Last edited:
Why not take a mortgage or HEL on your residence, and use it to buy the rental property?