Capital Gains Taxes

Hopeful

Recycles dryer sheets
One area of knowledge that I have always been weak on is taxes. I always do my own taxes with TurboTax. I know it is not the best scenario doing something myself that I have little knowledge of.

My question is related to LT capital gains. I have a portion of our portfolio still in individual stocks. I would like to eventually transition that to my index funds in line with my set AA. Of the approx $400K there would be around $145K that would be LT capital gains.

Would this capital gains increase our marginal tax rate? Would it affect AMT? Would I be better off selling in portions over a number of years?

Currently our AGI is around 185K a year, and we have avoided AMT.

I should probably bite the bullet and consult a tax advisor. I know I can run the numbers in Turbotax, but without understanding how it comes up with the results it is hard to base decisions on it.

I don't know why taxes are so difficult for me to wrap my head around. Any advice would be appreciated.

remember to watch out for the ACA investment tax too.

"Would this capital gains increase our marginal tax rate? Would it affect AMT? Would I be better off selling in portions over a number of years?
"

Most likely yes to all of the above, I would guess. You need to try out one of the tax calculators that are linked to by others. TurboTax has one. However, it wouldn't be too hard to plug test numbers into your last year's TurboTax. You need to watch out for possible deduction and exemption rollbacks, AMT, and Roth IRA contribution limits. I suspect the AMT might be the worst problem, if you've already given up on the Roth contributions. I think the rollbacks don't hit until 300K for joint filing, but some stuff does hit at 250k.