Classic strategies for retirement investment

fledermaus

Confused about dryer sheets
I am new both to this board and to retirement. I have been investing for about 6 years and still consider myself a beginner. Now that we achieved our goal of early retirement I realize that there must be many basic principles that are commonly known for investing during retirement that perhaps I'm not aware of.

I focussed the past 12 months on creating an income using a combination of mutual funds (munis of various kinds, high-yield bonds, money markets) and those publicly traded stocks from REITS and Master limited partnerships which offer nice dividends. Its been doing pretty well for our purposes, though naturally I watch the MLP's like a hawk, some are solider than others. In addition we had rental real estate, but we are gradually getting rid of them. At the core of it all is a small retirement pension with no COLA.

I have alot of questions!

1. What will happen to the many kinds of bonds when the Feds raise the rates ? Or if the market becomes more generally attractive to investors.

2. What is the most secure way to invest? I assume CD's and Money markets?

3. What is the best way to invest if one wants to travel for a few months at a time? This means not doing anything to the investments for a while.

4. I now create more income than we need. Why should we be taxed on income we don't use but simply save? Is there an alternative, such as a slow and steady increase of our holdings thru an index fund or perhaps very conservative stocks, which would not be cashed out for quite a while?

I'm hoping my questions may apply to many people's situations, and bring on lots of different opinions and feed-back. Like many of us we are ordinary working folk who simply have decided not to work anymore! We are very risk-adverse (financially), treasure our freedom, and are willing to live a thrifty yet fun lifestyle in order conserve the money that makes our free time possible.