Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Corporate Bonds in Vanguard
Old 02-01-2012, 09:31 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Corporate Bonds in Vanguard

I have a basic 4 fund approach in my retirement fund. I have been looking into investing in more CD's with the Vanguard account but now am looking at a bond issued by goldman sachs that has a maturity of 02/15/2016 and yield of 3.15%. I am not experienced with bonds but understand they are not FDIC insured. this particular bond has a Moody rating of - and an S and P rating of A-. My question is what are the risks of this type of bond? I would plan on holding until maturity. Does anyone have experience with these and/or opinions on using this as an alternative to a CD of 7 year length?
afntrn56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-01-2012, 10:53 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

I cannot comment on the specific issue.