Join Early Retirement Today

Cost Basis Changes
Old 01-18-2013, 09:08 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Cost Basis Changes

I took gains this year from my taxable account I just opened about a year and a half ago from Vanguard. I don't understand why these gains were subtracted from my cost basis. Can someone enlighten me on the mechanics of taxable accounts and changes in cost basis. I am new to these types of accounts as I have always only held most of money in tax deferred.
ripper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-18-2013, 10:17 AM   #2

It sounds like you may be automatically reinvesting dividends and gains.
Each and every share of a fund that you own has a basis. If you sold shares to "take gains", then the total basis in the fund is reduced by the basis of the shares sold.

Determining the basis of shares sold is probably a different topic.