Deducting health insurance premiums

Rich_by_the_Bay

Moderator Emeritus
My understanding is that you can take health insurance premiums as an adjustment to gross income if you're self-employed and not if you get these as a pretax benefit as an employee. (I'm talking about a standard 1040 income tax deduction, and not about itemizing them as a medical expense.)

My question: can you deduct the premiums if you are employed, decline pre-tax health benefits from your current employer, but pay out of pocket the premiums on a continuation policy from a previous employer?

I'm no expert, but based on my reading while filing a self employed I do not think that you can.

However that brings up the idea of having some little business in ER in order to deduct the premiums.

I'm no expert, but based on my reading while filing a self employed I do not think that you can..

This link says:
... if you're self-employed and not covered by any other employer-paid plan, you can deduct 100% your health insurance premiums above the line.

Unfortunately, the IRS here says:

You cannot take the special 100% deduction for any month in which you are eligible to participate in any subsidized health plan maintained by your employer or your spouse's employer.
I'm afraid this means that if I decline the 2nd employers benefits, I cannot deduct the premiums for the continuation policy, since I was eligible to participate (even though I declined). :rant:

Last edited:
If you don't file a Schedule C with self employment income as a part of your tax return, I think a deduction like you are proposing would trigger some questions.

If you don't file a Schedule C with self employment income as a part of your tax return, I think a deduction like you are proposing would trigger some questions.

Who says you need to file a Schedule C to take an above-the-line health insurance deduction?

This link says: