deferral errors and QNEC

Theseus

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been trying to find an answer to my situation regarding 401(k) deferral errors and methods of correction. The IRS website has some good information and I've learned about QNEC and such, but not entirely understanding them as I'm no tax lawyer.

Situation is this:

• Megacorp 401(k) 100% match on first 5% pay elective deferral
  • First two pay statements I had elected a 21% of pay deferral rate
  • Beginning third pay statement I had elected 5% of pay deferral rate, in order to build cash reserves for ER this year while fully utilizing the available 100% match
  • Elective deferrals made as I specified, until eighth pay statement which due to an error reverted to 21%
  • Subsequent pay statements reverted to correct 5% deferral - until...
  • Received a letter from Megacorp last week saying they were going to refund the eighth statement's error.
  • Before I could say "what about my match" my last pay statement had a negative elective deferral amount.
  • The end result was I had no elective deferral to match on that statement, basically denying me a benefit the plan says I am entitled to, and that I had given instruction to that end
The most recent Plan Summary I can locate from two years ago (a company name change ago, with another one coming soon) does call for true-up contributions which I understand could fix that, but as I understand it my intending to retire this year (which Megacorp is aware of) seems to make that corrective measure unavailable.

The question I have is - was the negative deferral the correct way to correct the first error? Would the effective denial of matching contribution require a QNEC to correct?