Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Deferring cash payout, IRA or Annuity?
Old 10-23-2012, 08:43 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Deferring cash payout, IRA or Annuity?

I'm a new poster here, but have lurked off and on for awhile. Always been impressed with the knowledge to be had here, so I wanted to run something by the forum.
I am a retired police officer, my brother also works for the department and is approaching retirement.

Upon retirement, our state allows and officer to choose between higher monthly pension payments or a partial cash payout. This is an over simplification of the plan, but accurate. Before I invoke any fat pension hostility, we pay 7.5% of our salaries into the system, and my pension is only 50% after 25 years. We receive no medical benefits.

When I left, I elected to take the cash, roll it into a traditional IRA, and wait to access it until sometime in the future. I invest this in a mix of ETFs, mutual funds, etc.

A coworker who retired in 2006 elected to roll his payout into a deferred annuity which will make monthly payments to him in the future. At that time, he was able to find an annuity that would guarantee him a 6% return. He is single with no heirs, and this appealed to him.

My brother was very intrigued by this set-up and has asked me if I had any knowledge of annuities. I have never really been a fan of annuities, as their past reputation was for being expensive for what they provide, and at times uncertain. In the last few years, they seemed to have grown in popularity, though, with many experts allowing there is a place for them.

As my brother has kids, and does not want to sign away his principle, my feelings are that an annuity fitting his needs would likely be a tough find now. Interests rates are so low, that no decent guarantees could be had. Also, variable annuities are probably no better than a mutual fund within an IRA, yet are more expensive.