Do annuities fit into an ER plan? (SWR-related)

lwbarry

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi everyone,

I’ve lurked for a while on this board, even before I started grad school. Now I’m a grad student in financial planning and I’m writing a paper that discusses SWR, among other things. I have a question that I’m hoping people here could shed some light on.

Discussions of SWR seem to focus on investments, not insurance products like annuities. In other words, discussion focuses on what % of one’s investment portfolio one can safely withdraw each year. My background is squarely in investments, as opposed to insurance, so an investment-focused SWR discussion makes sense to me. However, the insurance industry spends a lot of time and money marketing products like annuities as a guaranteed way not to outlive your money. As an investment person, I admit I tend to be skeptical of the insurance industry (suspicious that the fees outweigh the benefits). As a future financial planner, though, I at least need to educate myself more about insurance, regardless of how often I ultimately recommend it once I understand it better.

My question is: Do you think it is desirable to use insurance products to meet some or all of one’s retirement income needs? Why or why not?

Thank you for any discussion this generates. I’ll check back regularly and respond to any posts.

Best, Leonard

I hope this isn't a sales pitch !

Perhaps one could make a case to fund an immediate annuity with part of your stash so that you have a "Can't Starve" income stream.

I think that for someone that is not an investor (or a good investor) an immediate annuity could be worth while.
I have thought about having my estate purchase one for the wife should I go to the other side.

My concern(s)/comments are:

1) Is the insurance company going to be around ?
2) Are their fees so high that I could do better on my own ?