Eliminate Tipping

Status
Not open for further replies.
I worked as a waitstaff at a family restaurant while going to college. A lot of things have probably changed (more people paid cash then rather than credit card), but in California they passed a law at that time that mandated a minimum of 8% of a server's total food and beverage tab was taxable income, regardless if declared tips were less than that. So if someone left little (a few little old ladies thought $0.50 per check was perfectly adequate), it was worse than working for free, it was money out of my paycheck.

Should tipping be eliminated? As long as there are other restaurants that allow tipping, it would be hard for a business to retained quality employees because the higher income they need to provide would result in higher food prices that customers may not be willing to pay.

I like the "one step up from McD's" model. In my part of the country, that's Panera Bread. Nicer atmosphere, "better" food, real plates, but you do your own counter pickup and bus your own table. They probably have a tip jar on the counter, but I ignore it.

I would certainly try a table service restaurant that uses the "no tipping please, because we already pay a decent wage" policy, but I would like that service card I mentioned.

Not saying it doesn't happen, but I've never seen a tip jar at Panera. However, I have tipped there, directly to the sandwich maker. This was someone who knew my requests and always had special things ready for me without asking. It was only occasional, and I almost felt like a criminal doing it.

In away though, that's what tipping should be, something you really want to do. But it isn't that way, hence this really long and interesting discussion.