Join Early Retirement Today

ER plan for a 50 yo couple
Old 06-05-2017, 10:30 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

ER plan for a 50 yo couple

Hello. I’ve been visiting this site for the past 3 years learning from all you smart folks and planning for our day of freedom. I would appreciate a sanity check on my plan:

- I’m 50, DW is 54.
- House mortgage is $130K remaining and will be paid off in 5 years.
- No other debt, but I expect I’ll need a new truck (~$30K) in the next few years due to age.
- 401K = $1,040,000
- Taxable account (Schwab) = $30K
- Cash = $25K
- Pension Lump Sum = $280K after taxes (available in 5 years at age 55). I don’t feel comfortable taking the monthly pension (I want the sure thing), but it would be $10K per year after taxes.
- Living Expenses = $75K per year (which includes an assumed tax rate of 15%, which I think we will drop into when we retire).
- Health Care (from now until Medicare) = $13K per year to cover both of us on DWs plan (mine is slightly cheaper).
- Health Care (after Medicare kicks in) = $8K per year to cover both of us (using AARPs $240K lifetime estimate). This is the big unknown.
- Estimated years in retirement = 42.
- SS combined = $42K per year taking it early at age 62.
- I’m a moderate/aggressive investor using a portfolio from portfoliocharts.com that is a blend of Merriman Ultimate/Golden Butterfly/Swensen. SWR is estimated to be 5% but I am using the traditional 4% for my planning.
- no estate to leave behind to anyone, so we can bleed it dry.