Estimated fee to be an Executor of an estate

I wouldn’t charge, but I have never done it before, but someday will. It could be a PITA, I guess it depends on the complexity of the estate. Any estimates on the amount of work (hours, days) it took?

I was the executor of my dad's estate. I took $10/hour. That was a decade ago. I'm sure you could charge more if you wanted to -- the work is certainly worth more than 10 bucks an hour. I just didn't want to feel guilty about charging my siblings, so I kept my "fee" very modest. I let my siblings know, and of course they were fine with it. It didn't add up to much, but it kept me from feeling resentful. Being an executor can be a chore.

Last edited:
I was the executor of my dad's estate. I took $10/hour. That was a decade ago. I'm sure you could charge more if you wanted to -- the work is certainly worth more than 10 bucks an hour. I just didn't want to feel guilty about charging my siblings, so I kept my "fee" very modest. I let my siblings know, and of course they were fine with it. It didn't add up to much, but it kept me from feeling resentful. Being an executor can be a chore.

Yeah, I wish the job on no one. A lot of work getting through all bureaucracy rules and regulations.

Anyone begrudging you that should get coal in their stocking.

Yes, if the work was paid like a CPA would charge, that's the baseline. Anything less is pro-bono.

I was 1/3 of a like size estate, and my cousin was the executor. He'd been looking over my aunt's business for about 10 years after senility reared its ugly face. She was 3 months short of 100 years old.

He asked that his 1/3 of the estate also include $20,000 for his time, and we agreed that it was reasonable. The attorney was a close friend of my aunt, and he handled the probate for far less than normal. The worse part was negotiating a buyout on a real estate partnership when the partners were both attorneys and CPA's.