Join Early Retirement Today

Fidelity allows payments with insufficient funds
Old 02-10-2017, 09:08 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Fidelity allows payments with insufficient funds

I'm new to all this and I mistakenly tried paying my rent without enough "cash available to trade" in the account I paid from. I noticed this the next morning. The Fidelity Billpay account (which annoyingly has a separate login from the brokerage and IRA accounts and I almost thought there was no record of my attempt to pay) says my payment was "completed" or "processed" or something. So, I'm not sure what happened, but I just sold enough shares from the mutual fund that was in the account to pay that bill. I guess when the trade goes through, the cash will be added to my "core position" and I'm hoping it won't be too late. I should have received a warning or something.
Boho is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-10-2017, 09:24 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Quote: