Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Fidelity website not updating balances
Old 12-01-2023, 05:16 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
Tetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New England
Posts: 356
Fidelity website not updating balances

I noticed in my balances last couple of days that I literally had no increases despite a big day yesterday. I called fidelity this afternoon and they confirmed their computer system was screwed up and not updating accounts properly. So check your accounts and make sure they update this weekend.
Tetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-01-2023, 06:02 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 8,291
I have not had any problems AFAICT. They posted about it on Redit 5 hrs ago. Supposedly it got resolved 4 hrs ago but lots of PO’d clients beg to differ. The day traders are hopping mad.
https://www.reddit.com/r/fidelityinv...s/s/nYcdCERVhh
__________________
...with no reasonable expectation for ER, I'm just here auditing the AP class.Retired 8/1/15.
jazz4cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2023, 07:59 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,971
I have had no issues like this with Fidelity.
COcheesehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2023, 08:03 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 37,783
I’ve been working on Fidelity accounts the last several days and have not had any problems.

I did notice a couple of times they reported an error when displaying positions, saying they were working on it. But that seemed to resolve quickly.
__________________
Retired since summer 1999.
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2023, 08:57 PM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
Tetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New England
Posts: 356
I just checked again and it’s still not updated. I’ll call again tomorrow I guess
Tetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2023, 09:26 PM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
imbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 333
Yesterday was bad (mispricing on some new issue bonds) but today was horrific (accounts missing, cancelled orders stuck in pending and freezing funds, fund transfers erroring out, placed orders not actually getting put to market, etc.). Thank the gods I don't deal in time sensitive expiring options.
imbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2023, 09:35 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Chicago West Burbs
Posts: 2,984
It may be related to something in your accounts. I just checked ours and our IRA's, Roth IRA's, Inherited IRA and Aftertax accounts all were updated from today's gains.
CRLLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2023, 10:00 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRLLS View Post
It may be related to something in your accounts. I just checked ours and our IRA's, Roth IRA's, Inherited IRA and Aftertax accounts all were updated from today's gains.
Ours as well.
COcheesehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 12:49 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 8,291
Kinda weird. Major freakout on the Fidelity Reddit forum but no one says they tried plan B, plan C, etc. If my PC access is restricted I’m gonna try another browser, iphone app, telephone access, etc. Many are saying it’s happened several times before. Ugly for traders.
__________________
...with no reasonable expectation for ER, I'm just here auditing the AP class.Retired 8/1/15.
jazz4cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 05:14 AM   #10
Recycles dryer sheets
imbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 333
My balances were never off FWIW just functionality limitations and new transaction processing problems, but I called Fidelity two different times on my issues and both times they said there were systemwide outages and as a result they had limited visibility on their end impeding their ability to even see enough to help with issues ("call back in 2-3 hours or try again tomorrow morning").
imbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 05:44 AM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
DrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,885
I do a monthly check and all was fine yesterday.
__________________
"The mountains are calling, and I must go." John Muir
DrRoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 06:17 AM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
RetireBy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cville
Posts: 1,594
I was doing my Dec IRA draw for taxes, tried to do it early Friday but after unlocking accounts, portfolio page showed “unable to display funds” or something like that. I did the transfer, it showed totals for each account when you select source of transfer so I did transfer and then shortly after I was able to see all portfolio. My experience was problems popped up then back to normal. After about 30 min I did lockdown again and exited, having been able to complete my tasks. Sure was strange
__________________
FIRE 31 Aug, 2018 - Always leave every place better than you found it, always give more than expected or Due
RetireBy90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 08:34 AM   #13
Recycles dryer sheets
Tetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New England
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetireBy90 View Post
I was doing my Dec IRA draw for taxes, tried to do it early Friday but after unlocking accounts, portfolio page showed “unable to display funds” or something like that. I did the transfer, it showed totals for each account when you select source of transfer so I did transfer and then shortly after I was able to see all portfolio. My experience was problems popped up then back to normal. After about 30 min I did lockdown again and exited, having been able to complete my tasks. Sure was strange
My experience was from the big run up in the Dow and .4% gain on the S&P on Nov 30, I saw my 7 figure account(s) tick up a total of $600… that was too low and I’ve seen much higher jumps with much lower market gains.Yesterdays .8% Dow gain and .6 s&p gain resulted in a $~10k+gain. 🤷🏼*♂️
Tetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 08:43 AM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz4cash View Post
Kinda weird. Major freakout on the Fidelity Reddit forum but no one says they tried plan B, plan C, etc. If my PC access is restricted I’m gonna try another browser, iphone app, telephone access, etc. Many are saying it’s happened several times before. Ugly for traders.
Me too. If the website is wonky, I go to the mobile site and vice versa. If both are bad, I get another cup of coffee and try again. Things usually resolve themselves quickly.
There has been talk on here and other forums about balance issues, but so much depends on what the user is doing. Pending dividends, transfers, overnight updating of the asset price…so many things come into play.
COcheesehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 08:59 AM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
latexman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Apex and Bradenton
Posts: 1,721
Checked my Fidelity accounts just now. No problem!
__________________
Good Luck,
Latexman
latexman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 09:06 AM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 8,291
Everything looks fine for my accounts but I don’t really have time sensitive transactions. Still very disappointing to have these issues and the response is making it worse. This reminds me to re-enable the Money Transfer Lockdown feature so I am not as concerned if I lose access to my accounts.
__________________
...with no reasonable expectation for ER, I'm just here auditing the AP class.Retired 8/1/15.
jazz4cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 09:10 AM   #17
Recycles dryer sheets
Tetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New England
Posts: 356
Just called Fidelity yet AGAIN! And this time they confirmed and took notes that there is indeed a computer problem affecting a subset of customers’ investment accounts updating! I triple requested the young lady take the notes from my Nov 30 to Dec 1st lack of updating and she confirmed it was an issue there. It will be fixed beginning on Monday fidelity said. Fingers crossed. It took me five people and 4 calls to get this far. In fidelity, the investment account folks DO NOT communicate with the workplace account folks. Nothing at all! So they at any given time are totally unaware of an issue….i asked her if she Googles these issues at all and reads forums to see what customers are saying….she said no. Not surprised.
Tetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 10:59 AM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
njhowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,907
Fidelity had big problems yesterday. I was on the phone with them at 10am and problems just got worse throughout the day.

Early in the day, municipal bonds were having major issues. I placed an order to buy some bonds, cancelled about 15 minutes later and it remained as Pending Cancel...for an hour before I called. Another, which was Fill or Kill did not fill, and had not killed after an hour when I was calling. A third was a bond I submitted to sell, but it was not posting as in inventory to sell. This had happened to me in the past, they were not able to resolve, and things did not clear up until overnight. When I called, after being put on hold for 15 minutes, the rep came back and acknowledged that there were issues. She said they were working on it. Same ultimately happened this time - did not confirm cancellation until overnight.

Later in the day, the problems spread to submitting stock orders to buy shares in ATP platform. Upon submitting the order, it would come back with "account information is not available, call for assistance". I was able to work around it getting orders through via the website and other pathways through ATP.

My big problem when this happens with the municipal bonds is that while the orders are Pending Cancel, the funds remain committed to those open orders. From what I saw, as far as what the market was showing, the orders were in fact already cancelled, however, Fidelity was not acknowledging it, and so those funds remained unavailable for investment until early this morning.
njhowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2023, 11:15 AM   #19
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 217
Yes! And it's been weird for months. My husband has his 401K there and I have my IRA. Mine works fine but my husband's says-

You have successfully logged into NetBenefits but have
landed on a page that no longer exists. To ensure that
your information is protected, please close your browser
window or click the link below to continue. (and that link doesn't work).

But then when I backspace on his, the info is there. I hope the numbers are right since there was a nice jump yesterday.

And it seems to be only on Saturdays. I check the accounts 2-3 times per week (unless the market is really bad lol) and I have no problems getting into his on other days. It's not like I go in at 3 am when they are doing backups or whatever.
Luvdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2023, 07:49 AM   #20
Recycles dryer sheets
imbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 333
Well good news is all my balances / holdings have returned as available again this morning but kind of weird the "pending" transactions from Friday are still showing in my activity as not "verified" yet.....so still some clean-up to do.
imbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does FireCalc calculate future balances if not retired? Carpediem FIRECalc support 1 08-10-2017 05:09 PM
Updating insurance coverage: life, auto, home, umbrella (help!) jblack FIRE and Money 7 08-07-2009 10:24 AM
Host a website myself or use a image storage website? WanderALot Other topics 18 04-11-2008 04:27 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.