Fixed income

gayl

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I'm relatively new to the concept of fixed income so I'm asking a dumb question. I have only 1 CA tax free one now.

Question: if I have 45k to stick into fixed income within an IRA, what should I look at?

What are your goals?
Do you need liquidity?
How safe do you want it to be?
Do you need the income?

Goals: capital preservation?
Liquidity: not necessary
Safety: yeah, I'm slowly (underline that) moving from 90/10 equity to 70/30 mix
Income: I'll eventually need to take RMD as required by IRS but current pension meets expenses, will also get SSA as I'm not under WEP/WPO

Last edited:
Are you accumulating or retired? Makes a difference, I believe. And if accumulating, how close to retiring?

Fixed income while accumulating is mostly about sleeping well at night since equities historically have done much better than bonds as far as creating wealth.

Fixed income once retired is more about wealth preservation and possibly income.

If all you want is pure wealth preservation, US Treasuries, either in a bond fund, or just bonds, cannot be beat for safety. In order to avoid inflation risk, I recommend shorter maturity bonds or funds, like 5-years or less (I go for 2-3 years).

If you want income, high quality munis or corporates are going to be better than US Treasuries. But I would still keep the maturity low.

If what you want to do is just sleep better at night, get a good total bond market fund like AGG or BND.

I would personally take that 45k and make a sweet little 4 year bond ladder. No NAV erosion in a rising rate environment. That might be overly complicated though, so look at a good multi sector bond fund like PTIAX. Currently yields just below 5%.

I'm relatively new to the concept of fixed income so I'm asking a dumb question. I have only 1 CA tax free one now.

Question: if I have 45k to stick into fixed income within an IRA, what should I look at?

Total bond fund.