For those who self-manage their nest egg - what funds do you use??

Why not? Morningstar allows a person (for free) plug in the symbol and it shows the breakdown.
Really? It shows total return for the equities and for the FI separately? So you can look at historical performance for each piece? That's pretty neat. Link or screen shot?

Thanks.

+1 on having benchmarks. I studied these Lazy Portfolios when I was constructing mine: https://tinyurl.com/y7csl5ym
Yes. Good. It is even more important to track against benchmarks going forward. I tpically use my home-made benchmark and also the All Country World Index (ACWI). The benchmark(s) and the portfolio have to be compared on a total return basis, not on a nominal (sans dividends) basis.

So why does one need to assess the performance of the equity part of Wellington or Wellesley? Why not just assess the overall performance? Vanguard's site shows the benchmark they compare the fund against, or you could create your own benchmark.

VSMGX for us

100% VSMGX
60/40, self-balancing.
SS + pension covers our expenses

You can google "marotta gone fishing portfolio". This is a fee-only financial planner that offers-up specific funds based on where your assets already are. So he (actually "they" offer up...it's a family business) a portfolio that would be easy to construct if you were a Vanguard customer, if you were a Fidelity customer, etc.

My husband and I took a class from George Marotta (I'm assuming the father) way back in 1989. We weren't even engaged yet! 30 years later and we have never had any fights about money.

This is a followup of another thread I started last year ... "How many totally manage their own nest egg??"

For those who self-manage (do not use a FA service at all), what funds (or other investments) do you have your retirement nest egg invested in?

I am curious since, Vanguard and Fidelity Index funds seem to be highly popular. I am also curious about which index funds folks pick, and why.

Thanks.