Goodbye FIRE, I'm headed to the poorhouse

saluki9

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
file this under "be careful what you wish for"

I've been complaining here for 6 months that I was trying to sell my condo and buy a house. Well, last week my dream came true and my condo sold. What is ever weirder is that the buyer of my condo is the seller of the house we bought. He was so desperate to sell his house that he bought my place just to get rid of his.

Now its starting to sink in just how expensive a proposition this is going to be. I've never owned a single family home. Everything in my condo was covered by my association fee so I've never had to shovel snow, cut grass, fix things etc. Thankfully my wife and I know this is a house we can stay in forever. It's got four bedrooms, 2.5 bath and is about 2700sq ft.

It's also sinking in that my monthly mortgage payment will be more than my monthly take home pay just a few years ago. I'm old fashioned and went for a 30year fixed at 5.875. That was an emotional decision and not a purely financial. All my friends made fun of me for not doing the 10 year I/O.

Advice from any longtime home owners?

saluki9 said:
...Advice from any longtime home owners?

Well, not much to add on the mortgage -- it is what it is, though you may be happy with the interest deduction. And a decent fixed rate, to boot.

Re: the house, we have always enjoyed maintaining and improving our house on our own terms, rather than some condo association's schedule. It works both in terms of preventive maintenance and also deferring things to a certain point for various reasons (e.g. hold off on a needed roof until after some other project was done). Sometimes it's hard to decide what to farm out to others v. doing yourself but ultimately you have control over that (lawn, snow, windows, gutters).

I bet if you budget your home maintenance costs like you did for condo fees, you won't find it's that much more, barring catastrophes for a few years.