Join Early Retirement Today

help in planing
Old 02-23-2005, 02:42 AM   #1

help in planing

I would like some opinions to use as a sounding board. I have been a lurker here for a while.
Myself and my wife are 42, we have been married for 24 years, and both worked from the day we got married.
I have worked in construction and she in different jobs up to 9 years ago, she had an opertunity to be trained on the job in title closing,escrow,ect.
My back and knees are starting to show my work choice. I have been a floorcovering installer, and we owned our own store for 7 of the 22 years that I have been doing this type of work. she was given a management posistion of an office, but a rival company asked her to work for them, we talked about it, and decided that she would ask for 3 months off in the winter.
We live in the north and want to move south, but we are not quite ready financialy.
they gave her a raise so she will make aprox. what she made in 12 months,agreed to let her take out insurance pre tax to pay for the 3 months she is gone.
I had a partner till 4 years ago, that I worked with in instalations.
We borke up, and I have taken on smaller jobs to keep some money coming in.
togeather we have saved 835k cash, mostly kept in cd's of that appx. 45k is in stocks and mut. funds, 15k is cash another 5 in ee savings. I deposit 6k a year to ira's to get the tax write off. this year will be 8k.
As my income is speratic. I started to draw 1k a month from the cd intrest, my wife pays most of the bills from her income, and I save what I make in cd's, [some goes to my gun colection, as it stands now I have 99 firearms]
We have one rental that brings in 500 a month, we own it free and clear same with our house.
the rental is not pure profit, taxes,insurance, ect.