How I handle a market downturn

UnrealizedPotential

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I simply accept what it is and I do not look at my statements as much. I realize that market downturns are a part of the process. I am far from a market expert . I am no expert at all. But everyone has an opinion. Mine is I would not be the least bit surprised we enter a bear market this year. Too many moving parts and none of them are good. I think the two most important that stand out to me are rising rates and a historically high price to earnings ratio. I think we go down 20% - 30% and slowly claw are way back up. No matter what I will hold tight and ride out the storm like I always have. The storm always passes eventually. This is where nerves of steel and asset allocation are so valuable. Is this how everyone else feels about it ?

I handle market downturns the same as I would handle huge market gains.

Double stoli on the rocks.....and keep 'em coming! :D:D:D

From high up long term charts look pretty good even with many 20-30 percent drops.

I don't have nerves of steel (as someone once guessed my username implied), but I agree with your viewpoint.

I simply accept what it is and I do not look at my statements as much. I realize that market downturns are a part of the process. I am far from a market expert . I am no expert at all. But everyone has an opinion. Mine is I would not be the least bit surprised we enter a bear market this year. Too many moving parts and none of them are good. I think the two most important that stand out to me are rising rates and a historically high price to earnings ratio. I think we go down 20% - 30% and slowly claw are way back up. No matter what I will hold tight and ride out the storm like I always have. The storm always passes eventually. This is where nerves of steel and asset allocation are so valuable. Is this how everyone else feels about it ?

+1