The I Bond Thread

So I bonds have limit of 1 per SSN. If I already own one under my name/ssn, can I open another as Joint owner with my daughter as Primary and me as Secondary ?

Your daughter can buy one. She will own it. She can add you as a POD/TOD.
Either by: the second-named owner or beneficiary. But you don't own it as second-named owner, it just takes effect upon daughter's death.

But I don't think (I'm NOT an expert) that anyone can have a Joint bond that has the meaning of a regular CD.

https://www.treasurydirect.gov/indiv/research/indepth/ibonds/registeringibonds.htm

But keep in mind that AFAIK any owner must have their own TD account.

Thanks Sunset and braunmeister. I think you’re right. I’ll also check TD website 👍 I’m hoping TD website is smart to figure that my SS already has a 10K I bond and instruct me 🌞

We MFJ are planning to buy $5k from out Tax Refunds, I wonder whose account that $5k will be deposited ? or do they divide with $2.5k in mine & $2.5k in DW's account

We MFJ are planning to buy $5k from out Tax Refunds, I wonder whose account that $5k will be deposited ? or do they divide with $2.5k in mine & $2.5k in DW's account

My guess is it’ll go to the first listed on the 1040.

See IRS form 8888. You get to specify how much goes under each person's name.

I Bond rate 11/2021

I got my entity account (trust) signature verification done at the credit union on Friday. They used a medallion signature guarantee which seems overkill to me but they see a lot more in their business than I do.

It was dropped in the mailbox and picked up yesterday. I’ll be curious to see how long the process takes. I’d like to be able to use the account in 2021 but it’s not a disaster if it takes longer.

Yay! This account is now active as of today. I made a $10K purchase for CY 2021.

That’s pretty darn good on Treasury’s part I think. Now that it’s established and funded there’s little more to do.