I (might) need help simplifying my retirement accounts

A Bird In Hand

Recycles dryer sheets
As someone who has been saving fastidiously since childhood, and maxing out my 401k since shortly after college, I have an embarrassing confession: I never really paid much attention to the allocation of funds in my 401k. I vaguely remember choosing some funds when I opened my account, and I think after one or two years I (foolishly) switched around the funds and added some new ones which had done exceedingly well in the prior year. :facepalm: Mind you, this was around 15 years ago when I was fresh out of college and didn't have a clue about...well...much of anything.

Years have passed, my wife and I have had numerous employers, and now we have multiple accounts in Vanguard, TSP, and TIAA-CREF. If that's not enough to keep track of, we have a large number of funds in some of our accounts -- especially Vanguard. I have 15 funds in my Vanguard retirement plan (through my employer) alone. Some are undoubtedly near duplicates of others.

For Vanguard stock I have Growth Index Signal, PRIMECAP Admiral, US Growth Fund, Explorer, Growth Index, Growth and Income, Institutional Index, Strategic Equity, U.S. Value, Value Index.

For Vanguard balanced funds I have Balanced Index, LifeStrategy Moderate Growth, STAR, Wellesley Income, and Wellington.

For Vanguard bonds I have Inflation-protected Securities and Total Bond Market Index.

Is there any compelling reason (beyond reducing complexity) to consolidate my Vanguard funds to just a few that align with my risk tolerance -- perhaps Wellington, Wellesley, and one or two others?

Between all our plans the allocation works out to be about 70% stock (very heavily weighted toward domestic), 15% bonds, 10% guaranteed (employer contributions -- can't change this), and the remainder a combination of real estate, short-term reserves, and others.