Join Early Retirement Today

IRA Contributions When Living Overseas
Old 07-24-2009, 07:28 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

IRA Contributions When Living Overseas

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this question, but it is the place for expert financial info.

If a US citizen lives full time in a foreign country and performs some work there on the local economy (not for a US company), my understanding is that they do not have to pay US income tax on that income. I'm pretty sure I've read that in several places.

The question is whether that income can be used to justify a contribution to either a traditional or Roth IRA? The IRS rules I have read don't seem to be real explicit on this, but I'm not a lawyer or accountant, so I may well be missing something. I think the answer is no, if you have no US taxable work income, you can't contribute.

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance.
beowulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2009, 08:13 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post