Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Lehman & PBGC for WORKER BEE's
Old 09-15-2008, 08:56 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Lehman & PBGC for WORKER BEE's

Now I am not an expert on this.. but I just wondered how many retirees and active employees got pensions kicked to the PBGC today. It seems that an old company with 25000 active US employees ought to have say another 40000 to 50000 retirees already? What do you think?

This may be the largest group dumped into PBGC ever. Remember that Worldcom and Enron were both ultra high but short term growth companies. They were not decades long venerable institutions.

How long till we get to start picking up the tab for this? PBGC may not be funded for the first decade of this century.

Also, I bet a lot of early retirement types just got totally blindsided. I feel really bad for the working folks there.
crazy connie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-15-2008, 09:00 PM   #2