Join Early Retirement Today

Look for new job or ride it out
Old 01-31-2022, 06:50 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Look for new job or ride it out

Hello All. So recently my dividend income of $41000 covers my expenses in a MCOL city in Canada. This is on a $1.9Mil portfolio and paid off house. We are frugal, my hobbies are cheap (tennis, cross country skiing and biking) and with COVID our plans to cheaply slow travel are nill and void.

I am in a job now for fifteen years. Due to recent management changes, I get the vibe I may not be around much longer....although my new boss gives that vibe to everyone on my team. As a result, recently I started applying for new jobs and have had a couple nibbles but I'm only half heartedly looking. I'm a CPA in Canada so in relatively high demand.....BUT part of me really just wants some time off. If I was let go from my position I would get around 100k in severance based on my age, precedence and my position in the company. This is part of the reason I'm only half heartedly motivated to look for a job.....as a new job would mean walking away from this lotto ticket that might pay off.

On the other hand I know how hard it would be to find a senior finance job at my age of 47 after being let go. It would be hard to explain that to a new employer....although not really sure I even need to work at this point but I feel abit to young to fully retire. I believe working part time in my profession would be relatively easy (part time tax prep, part time controller gigs through recruiters, etc) I wish taking absences from white collar jobs was more accepted but it is what it is.

So I guess is anyone else in this position? Basically ready to FIRE with long term tenure at a job and secretly wanting a "going away" present while also considering other opportunities and confused what to do?
accountingsucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!