Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2018, 01:27 PM   #21
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floridatennisplayer View Post
People still have landlines?
MJ plugs into your router and you hook a regular phone to it, no landline needed.
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-13-2018, 06:15 PM   #22
Recycles dryer sheets
Henry Lili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 196
I've had Ooma basic close to two years. No TM calls. The service is "free" bit you do have to pay FTC and other fees. Just over $5/mo
Henry Lili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 09:01 PM   #23
Recycles dryer sheets
retired1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 234
I use Magic Jack for last few years since cutting all cords (Phone, TV, and Cable/Dish). I believe it's about $20/Yr !! It's been working pretty good. With traditional land lines the jacks all around house worked great but once you switch to VOIP, you'll need to buy multiple (2,3,or 4) phone system with 1 base + remote handsets.

With VOIP, you'll need to pay 911 service separately... usually ~$19/yr.
retired1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 05:42 AM   #24
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: dubuque
Posts: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by retired1 View Post
I use Magic Jack for last few years since cutting all cords (Phone, TV, and Cable/Dish). I believe it's about $20/Yr !! It's been working pretty good. With traditional land lines the jacks all around house worked great but once you switch to VOIP, you'll need to buy multiple (2,3,or 4) phone system with 1 base + remote handsets.

With VOIP, you'll need to pay 911 service separately... usually ~$19/yr.
do you pay for that separately or with is it included in the yearly cost for the magic jacks?
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 08:05 AM   #25
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
kcowan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pacific latitude 20/49
Posts: 7,363
Send a message via Skype™ to kcowan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim584672 View Post
Been on MagicJack for many years. It is ok. $100 for 5 years. Works through a regular phone or Android app too.
Since they introduced the mobile app, we never use the jack anymore. Make/receive calls on 2xiPads and 2xiPhones.
__________________
For the fun of it...Keith
kcowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 08:23 AM   #26
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 381
I have had Ooma for 4-5 years now, and it has been very good. I pay for the Premier level for added features and use it with Google Voice. No issues with the phone service itself, though they are maddeningly slow to add user control features. For example, you still can't see which calls they chose to block as spam, but you can at least block "neighbor spam" and blacklist "numbers starting with" and "caller ID name starts with".

My line, through Google Voice, gets no spam. My wife's line gets occasional robocallers (even with Nomorobo enabled), but it's not severe.
__________________
Steve
jonat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 08:29 AM   #27
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 203
I had Ooma for many years and never had any problems. I need to show my naivety for a moment. As soon as the landline is no longer needed for work, I have been assuming that we will just get rid of it, and just use cellular.

What's the reason to keep the landline?
Kelor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 08:35 AM   #28
Moderator
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank View Post
what is the name and model of the sentry device?
I have the 2.2. Don't get the 1.0...it was not good. I suspect the newest one, 3.1, has some ease of use features that would make it easier to set up. You don't really need to do anything but plug it in, but you can make it easier on your mom and regular callers by manually entering their numbers instead of having them add themselves.
sengsational is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 09:56 AM   #29
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
OldShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: City
Posts: 6,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldShooter View Post
... Two days ago I order the line port of our wireline number to Ooma. Amazingly, they say it might take as long as 3-4 weeks to get it done. ...
Just an update on this: I ordered the line port on 10/10 and today I have an email saying that the port will happen tomorrow, 10/15. So that's not so bad. Three business days. Apparently this is carrier dependent; ours is CenturyLink, formerly Qwest.

Now I have to get the phone wiring ready to cut over to the Ooma box.
OldShooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 10:05 AM   #30
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
OldShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: City
Posts: 6,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelor View Post
... What's the reason to keep the landline?
Good question. Many would probably say there is no reason.

In our case, despite being in the city, cell strength in our home can be marginal. Sometimes I have to stand near a window to get a solid connection even though we have Google Fi and it is supposed to switch us to VoIP when the signal is weak. The signal has to be really weak for this to actually happen.

Also, we have many friends and family who have and use the landline number. We could use Google Voice to alias the number and have it ring our cell phones but as previously stated I do not consider Google to be a reliable vendor so I don't want to base my telephone infrastructure on their products. Again, YMMV.
OldShooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 10:37 AM   #31
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelor View Post
...What's the reason to keep the landline?
Here are a few reasons that apply to us. Your situation may be different.

1. It's free (GV+Obi) and makes use of our existing landline phones, 2 bases, 5 cordless handsets.
2. Our house is 4500 sqft, so unless you carry the cell phone everywhere you go, you might not hear it ring.
3. Our cell signal is weak at the house, but the landline phones use the broadband ISP, so more reliable.
4. We use an MVNO (Ting) that charges for actual usage, so cell voice minutes cost extra, while the VoIP is free.
5. Cell battery will sometimes be dead for hours before I notice, or I've left it on silent.
__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.7% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 11:30 AM   #32
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 11,802
I have magic jack and am very happy with it. I buy a years service for $60 - so $5/month. We have cordless phones around the house... and a few old wall phones, and so we have a phone close by, just like the old bell landline.

And since it is my longtime landline phone number, I have various accounts tied to it... but it's also the biggest robo-call junk call magnet. My solution to that is to forward it to my google voice number... so my phone never rings and I get text messages with a transcript when someone calls the number.

My friends and family know to call my cell phone. If any businesses (legitimate ones) call - they get voicemail (google voice) and I call them back.

It words great.
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 6%, rental income 20%
rodi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 11:30 AM   #33
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 203
Those are excellent reasons. The cell reception is horrible here too, but we have an M-Cell (free at ATT if you complain enough).

We've used the home line for work only, so frankly I'm excited to get rid of it.
Kelor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 11:39 AM   #34
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Boise
Posts: 102
We got rid of our landline 6 months ago and haven't missed it at all. The only calls coming in were robocalls.
tominboise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 04:29 PM   #35
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Western NC
Posts: 2,526
So is cable VOIP considered a land-line for Google Voice porting?

I'm selling a relative's home & want to port their number to GV - they've currently got Spectrum's "triple-play" (cable TV/VOIP phone/internet)

I still have to port to a cell phone first?
ncbill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 09:51 PM   #36
Recycles dryer sheets
retired1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank View Post
do you pay for that separately or with is it included in the yearly cost for the magic jacks?
9-1-1 charges are paid separately from MagicJack charges. It seems there is no way around 911 charges.
retired1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 04:35 AM   #37
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL & Vermont
Posts: 29,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelor View Post
I had Ooma for many years and never had any problems. I need to show my naivety for a moment. As soon as the landline is no longer needed for work, I have been assuming that we will just get rid of it, and just use cellular.

What's the reason to keep the landline?
By "landline" I presume that you mean Ooma rather than any POTS number.

We ported our POTS number to Ooma in May 2011. The reason that we keep Ooma is because it is a phone number that we have had for the house (so for both of us) since 1986 so all our family, friends and vendors have that phone number to reach us. While we could probably port it to a cellphone, we each already have cellphones and cellphone numbers that friends, family and vendors already have for us individually.

According to Ooma, we have saved $3,411.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...target 65/35/0 AA TBD
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 06:15 AM   #38
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
kcowan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pacific latitude 20/49
Posts: 7,363
Send a message via Skype™ to kcowan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelor View Post
What's the reason to keep the landline?
One reason is to keep in touch with friends who will talk to either of you. It saves them deciding ahead of time which one they want to talk to.
__________________
For the fun of it...Keith
kcowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 02:00 PM   #39
Recycles dryer sheets
Floridatennisplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 485
Did away with our landline about 4 years ago. Absolutely no need. Cable guy said having a land line is very rare anymore.
__________________
Central Ohio and Ft.Myers, Florida

Retired January 2019, age 63
35/65 AA
0.00 WR
Floridatennisplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 04:11 PM   #40
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by retired1 View Post
With traditional land lines the jacks all around house worked great but once you switch to VOIP, you'll need to buy multiple (2,3,or 4) phone system with 1 base + remote handsets.
Not if you wire the phone adapter into the house's phone wiring. We have VOIP and every traditional phone jack in the house can access it; no need for new handsets.
mrfeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ooma and Ooma handsets omni550 Life after FIRE 65 07-24-2015 11:01 AM
Getting rid of home phone; MagicJack; Skype FUEGO Other topics 28 06-25-2009 09:41 AM
MagicJack: Cheap VoIP twaddle Other topics 17 10-30-2008 12:57 PM
Upset about bills--What about Vonage? education Other topics 3 11-25-2005 02:50 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.