Munis, again

JoeWras

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I know this topic comes up from time to time. Sorry if it is a repeat.

But I'm thinking of taking my first swipe at individual Munis for my state and city.

Why? Tax advantages for the state. Also perhaps my confidence in my city.

Thinking of just dipping my toes ($10k worth) in the game with a short term (4 years), no-call muni issued for some of the infrastructure I use every day.

Yearly tax savings? Maybe $30. Wow. $30! But it is a just a dip of my toes in the water for now.

Is this worth it? Or should I just stick with the Vanguard Tax-Exempt fund I've been using for the last 10 years? Putting my $10k there is a simple click of my mouse with little to no pain or complication.

For me, the small fee on the admiral fund shares of TE funds is worth it for the diversification and liquidity.

There can be some value to investing in individual muni bonds since you have complete control over when you decide to sell them. However, you need to know what you are doing to determine what a good price for the bond is. The spread between what you pay and what the broker paid can be as much as 2% sometimes. That's quite a fee to pay just to buy a bond. And you need to buy at least a dozen or so of them to properly diversify away risk.

If you know how to buy them right, and can buy enough to diversify, I think it's a great idea. If not, stick with low cost bond funds. The manager of the fund has been doing this for years and knows how to buy the bonds at the right price, and the Vanguard funds have such low expense ratios that it's a bargain to tap into their expertise to do the buying for you.

OK, you've convinced me. No need to dabble, I'll just leave it to the fund managers for now.