My 1st Quarter 2020 Financial Situation

Jerry1

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Site Team
I just did a summary of my statements as I've been doing quarterly for many years. On 3/31/2020, my NW is almost the same as it was on 12/31/2017.

This is interesting (to me) because I retired in January of 2018. Of course financially I didn't retire because I got a severance. None the less, being retired for two years and having my NW be the same as just before retirement feels a lot better than focusing on the losses I've watched in this last month hit my accounts.

On 3/31/2020 I moved most of my investments to cash/mm. I went from 60/40 to 10/90. The equities I have left are in my taxable account and made up of ten individual stocks that I feel are solid companies that have great dividend histories.

I'm going to ride out the next month or so - probably at least the 2nd quarter, as I am, while I think about how to go forward. I've discussed that in other threads but basically, I need to feel that I'm better protecting myself to remain retired and living at the level I planned for when I pulled the trigger. At the very least, I've gained a new appreciation for risk during retirement and what asset allocation really means.

The main reason I posted was to say that I feel a lot better when I see that my NW is no different than the day I retired. If it was good enough two years ago, it will be good as a new starting point (today).

The year 2018 was a down year, so you probably had more NW on 12/31/2017 than you did on 12/31/2018.

Our portfolio is higher today than it was on 12/31/2018.

Jerry1 - you made me look. I'm basically back to where I was in April of 2019. Recency bias has me mourning a 25% loss from this year's peak value, after a nearly $1M run last year. Great perspective.

NW at 3/31/2020 back to 12/31/2016.... 6/30/2016 with respect to investments balance.