My first year of SS contributions

Htown Harry

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
What was the job that earned your very first contributions to Social Security and Medicare?

We've had a thread on first jobs, which mostly identified neighborhood entrepreneurs working for cash. I found another that asked posters to describe their first "real" (self-supporting) job.

I just reviewed my annual Social Security statement. It's always good to see a reminder that the first leg of the retirement income stool is still ready and waiting.

As instructed, I reviewed my earnings record. It's a bit daunting, even a little depressing, to be reminded that I've been working for The Man for almost 40 years.

My first paycheck job was in 1976, when I earned $2500 frying chicken and selling sodas at an amusement park. It was full time in the summer and weekends in the spring and fall. I started at $1.65 an hour, which was substantially less than the $2.30 minimum wage. (Amusement parks took full advantage of a seasonal worker loophole.)

I remember lots of 10 hour shifts, plus the opportunity to sign up for extra hours at catering events or to "work a double" from 8am to midnight if you wanted to substitute for an absent co-worker. Fortunately, they paid time-and-a-half for overtime. I worked a bunch of it to get to $2500.

I worked for Federal Compress and Warehouse company in 1973. We unloaded bales of cotton, sampled them, tagged them, stored them and inventoried them. I earned $63 dollars as I was part time after school and started late in the year.

Last edited:
Janitor at a shopping mall. My SS record shows $849 earnings in 1972. Was 14 years old.

My first job was as a dishwasher at a local restaurant in 1976 a year before I graduated high school, eventually made my way to cook. I made $1,220 that year.

I applied at the local shoe company, Earth Shoes, and did not get the job. It was a good thing, as most shoe companies went out of the country.