Join Early Retirement Today
Closed Thread

My plan is working...
Old 11-23-2017, 07:42 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

My plan is working...

Thought I'd tell you that my plan is working.
When I first got onto this FIRE form, and asked about the possibilities of retiring, you all suggested (ok, required! (smile!)) that I track my spending so I'd know exactly what I needed to live on for a year. I'm not good at day-to-day expense tracking, so I did something else.
Last December, I opened up a new checking account, and transferred just the amount of money I thought I needed to live on, not counting taxes, or the COBRA I will have to pay for 18 months if I retire in June of next year (the COBRA money is already built into a separate savings account.) Starting January 1st of this year, I have lived off of only the money in this account.
I have spent "normally", including vacations and extras (I bought a new toy (an antique sewing machine), I had to buy a new computer this year, and we are in the process of replacing the recently broken washer dryer, so I've already added that estimated expense into the budget numbers.)
So far, I'm well under budget. I've projected ahead to the end of the year, and with those numbers, by the end of the year I'm projected to have spent about 73% of what I had budgeted to spend. The left over budgeted money is very close to what I will need for COBRA, too...nice!
I have the savings to make it to my pension and then to Medicare and Social Security, and beyond. And to cover my always high dental expenses, (thanks, mom and dad!)
I'm now officially FI!