Join Early Retirement Today

Need Advice On Withdrawal Strategy
Old 01-02-2019, 05:13 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Need Advice On Withdrawal Strategy

I sold my practice in May 2018 at the age of 54 and I continue to work about 12 hours a week for the new owner. After a lifetime of saving, 2019 looks to possibly be the first year where I will need to draw a bit from my portfolio to live off of.

I'm thinking that I could either liquidate my estimated needs for the year and have it in cash to draw from, or I could sell as needed in small amounts going forward.

I'm new to all this so I'm just curious- what do you all do?
novaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-02-2019, 05:27 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

It really doesn't matter much. It's probably good to have a certain amount in cash so you aren't forced to sell at a low, but there are ways around that, such as selling equities in taxable for spending money, and buying them back in an IRA if you have non-equities available.